View our brochure with quick links to plan your trip, find a shuttle, lodging, maps and route ALERTS   Brochure Quick Links


Ohio to Erie Trail History

A Vision taken to Action

Ed Honton was the founder of the Ohio to Erie Trail and the non-profit organization’s first president. It was his vision in 1991 to have a recreational path from Cincinnati to Cleveland mostly using former railroad and canal corridors. Through Ed’s dedication and hard work, the Ohio to Erie Trail became a reality. It was a tremendous loss in 2005 when Ed died, but his legacy will be enjoyed for centuries. Along a new section of the OTET on the Alum Creek Trail, please take a few minutes, pause and read about Ed’s story on a large bronze plaque on a huge stone next to one of the Alum Creek bridges dedicated to this visionary in Ohio.


Mike Groeber, current President, has served on the board since 2014. Former President, William Daehler, served as VP since 2001. Prior to William, Dr. Tom Moffitt led the organization as President of the Board  from 2004-2017. Dr. Moffitt joined the Board in 2001.

Chris Haydocy, current Vice President, has served the board since 2017. Don Noble (Treasurer) has served the board in their position for over five years. Mary Plumley (Secretary) served two years and replaced long time Secretary Wayne Roberts. In 2020, Jody Dzuranin joined the Executive Committee as the Secretary.

The Board has 19 elected, volunteer directors from across the state, many of whom have been active with the OTETF for over a decade.  Jerry Rampelt was the Board’s long time executive director and he joined the Board as a member following his retirement as the director in 2014. It is this volunteer Board that is responsible for keeping Ed Honton’s vision alive.

In late 2015, Lisa Daris became the part-time Executive Coordinator. Lisa handles the day to day operations of the organization and reports to the board president and officers.  Lisa served on the Community Advisory Committee for MORPC’s transportation department. She has also served on the board of FLOW (Friends of the Lower Olentangy), and is the director for TOSRV (Tour of the Scioto River Valley), the oldest running cycling event in the United States. In addition, she operates her own seasonal kayaking company, Olentangy Paddle. She is a graduate of the The Ohio State University.